Seedy Saturday

It’s hard to start thinking about gardening when you wake up to snow falling from a grey sky. But I had a mission, today my boyfriend and I were going to buy seeds for our urban agricultural sanctuary also known as our backyard patio.

And so we walked the two and a half kilometres in the wet snow to see what the Scadding Court Community Centre’s Seedy Saturday had to offer.

The SCCC is one of those buildings I have walked, biked, and ttc’ed past SO MANY TIMES but never went in to check it out. Seedy Saturday was located in the gym which gave me total flashbacks to my days at Goodwood Public School (Goodwood has recently been put on the map thanks to the popular television show, Schitt’s Creek.) Fortunately, I didn’t have to relive my sports failures or musical theatre triumphs, I just had to buy seeds.

It was a bit quieter than we expected…

I didn’t have any expectations, but I guess my millennial mind was expecting something a bit more Trinity Bellwoods-meets Brickworks cool (whatever that means). The venue was quiet and we were definitely the only people under 30 there. But I didn’t care, I came for the seeds!

The options were limited, maybe three of four booths, which was great because I didn’t want to get too overwhelmed – the 9,000 varieties of beans were confusing enough!

After about 30 minutes of browsing seeds and chatting with booth attendees, we decided to grab a few packs from the Mountain Grove Seed Company.

  • Blue Curled Scotch Kale
  • Black Tuscan Kale (my personal fave, as seen in the Gusto 101 Cavolo Nero salad)
  • Purple Podded Pole Beans
  • Sweet Basil
  • Moss Curled Parsley

We also grabbed two adorable plants (a baby spider and a sprouting cherry tomato) in red plastic cups. The woman working the Mountain Grove booth gave us an empty kleenex box to take them home in. Beyond cute!

Total haul cost: $17 plus $2 each to get in. $21 for a cute afternoon date, pretty good deal!

Future dinner!

On the way out, we noticed this super rad aquaponics set up and had to check it out!

Aquaponics are probably my favourite agricultural trend in the past year. This was the first time I’ve ever had an opportunity to see it functioning and I must say, it was pretty cool.

 

For those that don’t know, “aquaponics is a closed-loop system in which plants and fish are grown together in a mutually beneficial relationship. The system has many benefits: compared to soil-based agriculture, it has significantly lower water usage rates, it provides greater control over conditions, and it is by nature free of any harmful products like pesticides.” Aka it’s a dual-sustainable environment and totally makes me want to become a farmer.

We popped into the designated space while a guide was providing more context about the system and answering a wide range of questions. He also mentioned that they sell about 90 heads of lettuce a week to various restaurants – talk about local!

Grown indoors thanks to fish poop!

The coolest part is that some of the children who attend the community centre can help contribute to this educational urban agriculture program!

You can learn more about the SCCC aquaponics space here.

It looked like he was showing off his beautiful scales for all of the visitors.
